Together, the fantastic food, great music and stylish, contemporary interior create a cosy atmosphere and a unique dining experience. The interior has been designed by Ace of Space’s internal architect Ines Haak, and designer Aap Piho, the paintings on the walls have been painted by a talented young artist Silver Koppel. The graphic styling has been created by Eastwood Advertising.
Enn Tobreluts and his team have been providing luxury grill and BBQ catering, cooking courses and shows since 2006. We also offer catering within both of our restaurants, provided by the restaurants and the BBQ Entertainment Team. Both PULL and HÄRG offer excellent space for corporate events, meetings and various parties and smaller events. Our 50 seat outdoor terrace in open throughout the summer season.
The history of Maakri Quarter
The architecture of the Maakri Quarter is not based on a single leitmotif, but grew out of the eventful history of the Kivisilla district of Tallinn. The Kivisilla district, which was the first industrial area in Tallinn and which is known as the cradle of Estonian industry, sprang up next to the Härjapea River. The land was purchased in 1877 by one Theodor Grünwaldt, who laid the foundations for Estonia’s biggest leather factory. The frontage along Maakri Street gained the appearance it retains to this day between 1909 and 1912. In 1909 the existing buildings on the corner of Maakri and Pääsukese Streets were joined together and thoroughly redesigned by Jacques Rosenbaum, an Estonian architect with Baltic German roots. Within two years, another grand building designed by the same architect had been constructed alongside the first. Its first floor, influenced by the Art Nouveau style popular at the time, was made from unrendered punctured slate, while the remainder of the street-front façade was in New Historicist style. This was followed in 1912 by a stone building, again designed by Rosenbaum, which completed the street frontage on the corner of Maakri and Tornimäe Streets. With its construction, the Härjapea River was relegated to sewer status beneath the buildings. Opening its doors in the Maakri Quarter in 1921 was the country’s largest and most famous shoe factory, Union. In 1940 the factory was nationalised, eventually being renamed in 1951 as the Kommunaar integrated leather and shoe production works. In 1991 it changed its name to Linda, retaining it until production came to an end in 1997.
Maakri Quarter as you can see it today was opened on 2018. When starting to plan the contemporary look of the Maakri Quarter business centre, renowned architect Rasmus Tamme took on the task of seamlessly blending the new buildings into the historical environment around them. The character of the quarter is therefore rich in diversity, whether viewed close up or from afar. The 110-metre highrise forms the main façade of the quarter and is a new landmark in Tallinn. All of the buildings, new and old alike, are linked by a shared foyer and courtyard. This has led to the creation of a people-friendly urban environment in which there are seven distinct buildings rather than one large, indistinguishable mass. At street level, the Maakri Quarter is open to all of the streets that surround it. Access from the streets is to the buildings themselves as well as to the landscaped courtyard and its terraces.
With entrance from Tornimäe street you can also find restaurant Härg with it’s relaxing outside terrace right in middle of the contemporary city.